About Us     Useful Information     FAQs     Financial Education     Complaints   Important Websites  
Home >> PressReleases - Display
Note : To obtain an aligned printout please download the (161.00 kb ) version to your machine and then use respective software to print the story.
Date: 29/07/2016
Issue of ₹ 10 banknotes without inset letter, ascending size of numerals in number panels

The Reserve Bank of India will shortly issue ₹ 10 denomination banknotes in the Mahatma Gandhi Series-2005, without inset letter, bearing the signature of Dr. Raghuram G.Rajan, Governor, Reserve Bank of India, and the year of printing ‘2016‘ printed on the reverse of the banknote.

The design of these banknotes to be issued now is similar in all respects to the ₹ 10 banknotes in Mahatma Gandhi Series- 2005 issued earlier, except that the numerals in both the number panels will be in the ascending size from left to right while the first three alpha-numeric characters (prefix) will remain constant in size.

Such banknotes with ascending size of numerals in the number panels have already been issued in the past.

All the banknotes in the denomination of ₹ 10 issued by the Bank in the past will continue to be legal tender.

Ajit Prasad
Assistant Adviser

Press Release: 2016-2017/260

  © Reserve Bank of India. All Rights Reserved.

Best viewed in 1024x768 resolution in IE 5 and above.