About Us     Useful Information     FAQs     Financial Education     Complaints   Important Websites  
Home >> PressReleases - Display
Note : To obtain an aligned printout please download the (231.00 kb ) version to your machine and then use respective software to print the story.
Date: 12/02/2019
Reserve Bank of India imposes monetary penalty on three banks

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has imposed, by orders dated February 04, 2019, monetary penalty for non-compliance with various directions issued by RBI on Know Your Customer (KYC) norms / Anti-Money Laundering (AML) standards, more specifically those contained in circulars dated November 29, 2004 and May 22, 2008, on three banks as indicated below:

Sr. No. Name of the bank Amount of penalty
(in ₹ Million)
1. HDFC Bank Limited 02
2. IDBI Bank Limited 02
3. Kotak Mahindra Bank Limited 02

The penalties have been imposed in exercise of powers vested in RBI under the provisions of Section 47A(1)(c) read with Section 46(4)(i) of the Banking Regulation Act, 1949, taking into account failure of the above banks to adhere to the aforesaid directions issued by RBI.

This action is based on deficiencies in regulatory compliance and is not intended to pronounce upon the validity of any transaction or agreement entered into by the banks with their customers.

Ajit Prasad
Assistant Adviser

Press Release : 2018-2019/1914

  © Reserve Bank of India. All Rights Reserved.

Best viewed in 1024x768 resolution in IE 5 and above.