About Us     Useful Information     FAQs     Financial Education     Complaints   Important Websites  
Home >> PressReleases - Display
Note : To obtain an aligned printout please download the (251.00 kb ) version to your machine and then use respective software to print the story.
Date: 05/08/2019
Reserve Bank of India imposes monetary penalty on eleven banks

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has, by an order dated July 31, 2019, imposed monetary penalty on eleven banks for non-compliance with certain provisions of “Reserve Bank of India (Frauds classification and reporting by commercial banks and select FIs) directions 2016”, as detailed below:

Sl. No. Name of the bank Amount of penalty
(₹ in crore)
1. Bank of Baroda 0.5
2. Corporation Bank 0.5
3. Federal Bank Limited 0.5
4. Indian Overseas Bank 1.0
5. Jammu & Kashmir Bank Limited 0.5
6. Oriental Bank of Commerce 1.5
7. Punjab & Sind Bank 1.0
8. Punjab National Bank 0.5
9. State Bank of India 0.5
10. UCO Bank 1.0
11. United Bank of India 1.0

The penalties have been imposed in exercise of powers vested in RBI under the provisions of Section 47A(1)(c) read with Sections 46(4)(i) and 51(1) of the Banking Regulation Act, 1949, taking into account the failure of the banks to adhere to the aforesaid directions issued by RBI. This action is based on the deficiencies in regulatory compliance and is not intended to pronounce upon the validity of any transaction or agreement entered into by the banks with their customers.


It was observed that despite having been advised by RBI to report fraud in an account ‘immediately’ in the backdrop of Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) having initiated criminal proceedings, the banks had delayed/ did not report fraud to RBI resulting in non-compliance with directions issued by RBI as mentioned above. Notices were issued to the banks advising them to show cause as to why penalty should not be imposed for non-compliance with the directions. After considering the replies received from the banks, oral submissions made in the personal hearings, where sought by the banks, and examination of additional submissions, if any, RBI came to the conclusion that the aforesaid charges of non-compliance with RBI directions were sustained and warranted imposition of monetary penalty on aforementioned eleven banks, based on the extent of non-compliance in each bank.

Yogesh Dayal
Chief General Manager

Press Release: 2019-2020/351

  © Reserve Bank of India. All Rights Reserved.

Best viewed in 1024x768 resolution in IE 5 and above.