About Us     Useful Information     FAQs     Financial Education     Complaints   Important Websites  
Home >> PressReleases - Display
Note : To obtain an aligned printout please download the (128.00 kb ) version to your machine and then use respective software to print the story.
Date: 20/11/2016
Public can continue to accept ₹ 10 coins as legal tender: RBI

The Reserve Bank of India puts into circulation coins minted by the Government of India. These coins have distinctive features. Coins in new denominations to meet transaction needs of public and coins in new designs to reflect various themes - economic, social and cultural - are introduced from time to time. As coins remain in circulation for longer periods, it is quite possible that coins of different designs and even shapes are circulating at the same time. One such change is introduction of 'Rupee symbol' in coins in July 2011. An instance of this is the ₹ 10 coins with rupee symbol and the same denomination coin without rupee symbol. Both of them are legal tender and equally good for transactions, though they may look a little different.

It has been reported that some less-informed or uninformed persons who suspect the genuineness of such coins are creating doubts in the minds of ordinary people including traders, shop-keepers, etc., impeding the circulation of these coins in certain pockets of the country causing avoidable confusion.

The Reserve Bank has advised members of the public not to give credence to such ill-informed notions and ignore them and continue to accept these coins as legal tender in all their transactions without any hesitation.

For more information about these coins, please see the following links:

Jun 22, 2016 RBI to shortly circulate ₹ 10 Coins to commemorate “Birth Centenary of Swami Chinmayananda”
Jan 28, 2016 Issue of ₹ 10 coins to commemorate the occasion of "125th birth anniversary of Dr. B. R. Ambedkar”
Jul 30, 2015 ₹ 10 coins issued to commemorate "International Day of Yoga"
Apr 16, 2015 Issue of ₹ 10 coins to commemorate the occasion of "Centenary commemoration of Mahatma Gandhi's return from South Africa"
Jul 17, 2014 Issue of ₹ 10 coins to commemorate the occasion of "Diamond Jubilee of Coir Board"
Aug 29, 2013 Issue of ₹ 10 coins to commemorate the occasion of "Silver Jubilee of Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine Board"
Jun 14, 2012 Issue of coins to commemorate the occasion of "60 years of the Parliament of India"
Jul 22, 2011 Issue of new series of Coins
Apr 01, 2010 PM releases Commemorative Coin Set; FM releases Mint Road Milestones: RBI at 75
Feb 11, 2010 Issue of new Commemorative Circulation Coin of Rs.10/- denomination (bi-metallic) on the occasion of "HOMI BHABHA BIRTH CENTENARY YEAR"
Mar 26, 2009 New Coins of ₹ 10/- (Bi-metallic) with the theme – "Unity in Diversity"
Mar 26, 2009 New Coins of ₹ 10/- (Bi-metallic) with the theme – "Connectivity and Information Technology "

Alpana Killawala
Principal Adviser

Press Release : 2016-2017/1257

  © Reserve Bank of India. All Rights Reserved.

Best viewed in 1024x768 resolution in IE 5 and above.