Click here to Visit the RBI’s new website

Press Releases

PDF document (227 kb)
Date : Jul 30, 2015
₹ 10 coins issued to commemorate "International Day of Yoga"

The Reserve Bank of India will shortly put into circulation ₹ 10 coins to commemorate the International Day of Yoga which the Government of India has minted.

The design details of these coins are:


The obverse of the coin bears the Lion Capitol of Ashoka Pillar in the center with the legend "सत्यमेव जयते" inscribed below, flanked on the left periphery with the word "भारत" in Devnagri script and on the right periphery flanked with the word "INDIA" in English. It also bears the Rupee symbol "₹" and denominational value "10" in the international numerals below the Lion Capitol.


The reverse of the coin bears the logo of "International Day of Yoga", with inscription "सामंजस्य एवं शान्ति के लिए योग" in Devnagri Script and "YOGA FOR HARMONY AND PEACE" around the logo and design. The date "21 JUNE" is written at the bottom of the logo. The inscription "अंतर्राष्ट्रीय योग दिवस" in Devnagri script on left periphery and "INTERNATIONAL DAY OF YOGA" in English on the right periphery is written on this side of the coin. The year "2015" is written on the lower periphery in international numerals exactly below the logo.

These coins are legal tender as provided in The Coinage Act 2011. The existing coins in this denomination will also continue to be legal tender.

The design details are notified in the Gazette of India – Extraordinary - Part II - Section 3 - Sub section (i) No.387dated June 10, 2015 published by the Ministry of Finance, Department of Economic Affairs.

Alpana Killawala
Principal Chief General Manager

Press Release : 2015-2016/265